A series from our seasoned and successful Boston L&E Trial Team will explore the latest trends in jury trials in a time of explosive verdicts, Reptile tactics, polarization, and an election year. We’ll offer practical strategies on how to maximize your chance of a total defense verdict, despite these headwinds, based on our experience navigating trials in this environment. We will cover specific strategies for a range of claims, including discrimination, harassment, retaliation, and wage-and-hour. 

Part 1, Apr. 30, 2024 : Trying Cases in a Polarized Environment

How to pick a jury, and frame a trial narrative, in a polarized time. Together with jury consultant Claire Luna of Jury Impact, we’ll discuss strategies for voir dire and trial defense in a time of heightened tensions around issues around race, national origin, gender and religion. We’ll offer practical strategies for how to handle generational divides (including Gen Z jurors!) and rising distrust in institutions. 

Speakers
Dawn Solowey, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Lynn Kappelman, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Claire Luna, Partner/Senior Vice President, Jury Impact

Cost – There is no cost to attend, but registration is required.

REGISTER HERE

Tuesday, April 30, 2024
12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. Eastern
11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Central
10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Mountain
9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. Pacific

If you have any questions, please contact Brooke Janeczek at bjaneczek@seyfarth.com and reference this event.

This program is pending CLE approval in CA, IL, and NY. Credit will be applied as requested but cannot be guaranteed for TX, NJ, GA, NC and WA. The following jurisdictions may accept reciprocal credit with our accredited states, and individuals can use the certificate they receive to gain CLE credit therein: AZ, AR, CT, HI and ME. The following jurisdictions do not require CLE, but attendees will receive general certificates of attendance: DC, MA, MD, MI, SD. For all other jurisdictions, a general certificate of attendance and the necessary materials will be issued that can be used for self-application. Please note that attendance must be submitted within 10 business days of the program taking place. CLE decisions are made by each local board and can take up to 12 weeks to process. If you have questions about jurisdictions, please email CLE@seyfarth.com.

Please note that programming under 50 minutes of CLE content is not eligible for credit in NJ, and programming under 60 minutes of CLE content is not eligible for credit in GA. Programs that are not open to the public are not eligible for credit in NC.

Registration Coming Soon:

Part 2: Throw Out the Old Litigation Playbook

In an era of explosive verdicts – and with some judges in Massachusetts reluctant to grant summary judgment – more cases are going to trial. The old litigation style that focused on summary judgment doesn’t cut it anymore. We’ll talk about the new playbook including how to use depositions as a pre-trial tool; when to write your jury instructions and opening statement (not right before trial!); and practical tips for bulletproofing your pre-trial preparation. 

Wednesday, May 22, 2024
12:00 p.m. to 12:45 p.m. Eastern
11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m. Central
10:00 a.m. to 10:45 a.m. Mountain
9:00 a.m. to 9:45 a.m. Pacific

Speakers:
Molly Mooney, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw
Rob Fisher, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw

Part 3: The Contingency Plan

While the goal is always to win a complete defense verdict at trial, we’ll discuss how best to preserve issues for post-trial motions and appeal in the event of an adverse verdict.  

Wednesday, August 14, 2024
12:00 p.m. to 12:45 p.m. Eastern
11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m. Central
10:00 a.m. to 10:45 a.m. Mountain
9:00 a.m. to 9:45 a.m. Pacific

Speakers:
Barry Miller, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw
Chris Kelleher, Associate, Seyfarth Shaw
Christina Duszlak, Associate, Seyfarth Shaw

Part 4: The Flip Side

A candid discussion with some of our favorite opponents from the Plaintiffs’ bar about employment trial trends and strategies on both sides of the “v.” 

Wednesday, September 25, 2024
12:00 p.m. to 12:45 p.m. Eastern
11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m. Central
10:00 a.m. to 10:45 a.m. Mountain
9:00 a.m. to 9:45 a.m. Pacific

Speakers:
Dawn Solowey, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Lynn Kappelman, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
TBD (Plaintiff’s Counsel)

Special guests to be determined from the Plaintiff’s bar.