About the Program: Today’s polarized environment presents many challenges for employers.  One such challenge is how to respond to reports of employees’ off-duty conduct.  Off-duty conduct – particularly when captured or reported online — may affect the workplace and other employees, threaten the company’s reputation, or alienate customers or investors.  A labyrinth of state off-duty conduct laws, social media statutes, and risks under the National Labor Relations Act, only makes the issues more complex.  

Join our experienced panel as they provide practical advice for employers when considering whether and how to respond to off-duty conduct, including:

  • A comparison of state off-duty conduct laws,
  • Analysis of the NLRB’s approach to off-duty conduct, 
  • Title 7 considerations and nuances, and
  • Hypothetical situations designed to provide pragmatic strategies. 

Cost: There is no cost to attend, however registration is required.

Speakers

Dawn Solowey, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Sam Schwartz-Fenwick, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Scott Mallery, Counsel, Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Learn more about our Navigating Cultural Flashpoints in the Workplace team.

REGISTER HERE

Wednesday, March 13, 2024
12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. Eastern
11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Central
10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Mountain
9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. Pacific

If you have any questions, please contact Kate Stacey at kstacey@seyfarth.com and reference this event.

This program is accredited for CLE in CA, IL, and NY. Credit will be applied as requested but cannot be guaranteed for TX, NJ, GA, NC and WA. The following jurisdictions may accept reciprocal credit with our accredited states, and individuals can use the certificate they receive to gain CLE credit therein: AZ, AR, CT, HI and ME. The following jurisdictions do not require CLE, but attendees will receive general certificates of attendance: DC, MA, MD, MI, SD. For all other jurisdictions, a general certificate of attendance and the necessary materials will be issued that can be used for self-application. Please note that attendance must be submitted within 10 business days of the program taking place. CLE decisions are made by each local board and can take up to 12 weeks to process. If you have questions about jurisdictions, please email CLE@seyfarth.com.

Please note that programming under 50 minutes of CLE content is not eligible for credit in NJ, and programming under 60 minutes of CLE content is not eligible for credit in GA. Programs that are not open to the public are not eligible for credit in NC.